On Being Content

The Journey.

Reading Joyce Meyer’s Promises for Your Everyday Life on ‘Learning to Be Content in Every Situation” made me realize that it’s not easy to do it. She further said that “Contentment is a decision to be happy with what you already have.” I guess this is easier to accept because the situation that we’re in may be of our own doing. But I firmly believe that we can dream of having a much better life that what we currently have but this should not be the main goal.

Few years ago, a good friend of mine who also happened to be an ex-colleague and joined my previous company as consultant asked me what made me stay for that company for so long. Just to give everyone an idea, I worked for that company for 12 years. I believe that there are other people who stayed or still in the same company longer that I am. Like me, they too have their own reason why they stayed or still staying. My friend and I knew that being a consultant gives a higher pay than being regular in a company, discounting the benefits of course. And I remember, my answer was just a simple words, “I’m content with what I have here and I’m happy with it.” And I’m glad she honoured my answer, because I can’t really explain or expound my answer. I don’t know what else to say. Until now, if ever somebody else will ask me again, my answer will be the same as how I answered my friend.

When I answered my friend at that time, I remembered that there’s something about being content I read in the bible, Phil 4:12 NIV “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” I guess this is sufficient for me why I’m content with what I have.

But do I crave for something else, like a better of this and that. Indeed, I’m also susceptible in such things. It’s easy to be caught in that situation where one crave for much better things.

In this time, the world teaches us to accumulate things, teaches us to pursue better things, to be always on top of others. And to counter that, it’s up to you and I to know our boundaries and examine ourselves, what will make us happy and content. But let us not forget that being content with what we have doesn’t mean we should not aspire for better things. We still can do it but I hope not at the expense of other more important things.

The Discovery.

Just as what Joyce Meyer said, being content is being happy with what you have and I hope that, that’s our goal. I pray and wish you happiness everyday.

About

Journey to Discover.

Tagged with:
Posted in Self Discovery

Leave a Reply

