The first key to writing

A scene in Finding Forrester movie.

JM – [looking at the typewriter]
WF – What are you doing?
JM – I’m thinking.
WF – The first key to writing is to write… not to think.

This hits me. I have been contemplating of writing long ago but never materialized. I can’t say that it’s because I have no time but maybe it’s not for me. Maybe I don’t have what it takes to be a writer or blogger.

In 2014, I started this blog. After writing a few blogs, I stopped and just restarted again this year. I realized, I haven’t written a whole lot. To be exact, i’ve written 12 blogs up to this. What have I been doing ? Thinking?

I agreed, when William Forrester told Jamal Wallace that quote. Immediately after hearing that conversation, I went upstairs, grab my laptop and started this article. I was challenged to write before you think. But since I’m writing this while finishing the movie, I’m distracted and I thinking before writing or rather thinking while writing and watching the movie. I guess, if we are focused on the task at hand, we will accomplish great things.

Well, lucky for me, I don’t have to follow the rules of writing like starting with conjunctions and all. In this case, I just write what comes from my mind.


Inspired by Finding Forrester movie.

About

Journey to Discover.

Posted in Self Discovery

Leave a Reply

